Week 2: Activity- Spray Paint

This is the first time I’ve ever done spray painting and I have to give graffiti artists their props because it is extremely difficult. I could hardly keep my hand steady enough to draw an actual letter. I chose to do two separate pieces, one with the bubble letters and another with a stencil that I drew out. I like the traced one better cause I imagine that’s how a graffiti artist’s work would look like.
I think graffiti is an interesting art style. I find amazing it how people just use a wall and just paint a story with a can. I believe it requires a lot of practice and talent. I learned from my experience that it would require a lot more practice and possibly a steadier hand! I’ve seen some amazing graffiti art and I hope that more people get into it. It’s fun to walk down the street and see an artist’s work displayed on a wall. I love graffiti and believe it gives a town/city some culture

FullSizeRender (1)
My first attempt at graffitti art. Not exactly my best work.

This wasn’t what i wanted at all, but i really tried to keep my hand straight and couldn’t manage it. I would either spray too much paint (as you can see in the “T” and the “A”) or i wouldn’t spray enough.

What i was really was hoping for but this was a cheat version. I drew a stencil and painted over it.
What i was really was hoping for but this was a cheat version. I drew a stencil and painted over it!

This is what I wanted it to look like, but that was an unrealistic expectation for it being my first time ever using spray paint. I gotta admit, it wasn’t easy to paint with a can but it was a fun experience and I’ll definitely try it again.

.

Leave a Reply

